Learn how and where to obtain birth, marriage, and death certificates and records in Louisiana, including the dates for which Louisiana vital records are available, where they are located, and links to online Louisiana vital records databases.
Louisiana Vital Records:
Louisiana Vital Records Registry
Office of Public Health
P.O. Box 60630
New Orleans, LA 70160
Phone: (504) 568-5152
What You Need to Know:
Check or money order should be made payable to Vital Records. Personal checks are accepted. Call or visit the Web site to verify current fees. Louisiana state law limits access to birth records of less than 100 years and death records of less than 50 years to the registrant and immediate or surviving family members. Identification is required.
Web site: Louisiana Vital Records Registry
Louisiana Birth Records
Dates: From July 1914 (Orleans Parish back to 1790)
Cost of copy: Long-form $15.00
Comments: Louisiana is a closed records state and access to birth certificates is restricted to immediate family members and legal representatives (spouse, parents, siblings, children, grandparents, grandchildren). If you are obtaining this certificate for genealogy purposes, the long-form is preferred because the short form does NOT include the parents' full names, their places of birth, or their ages.
With your request, include as much as you can of the following: the name on the birth record being requested, date of birth, place of birth (city or county), father's full name, (last, first, middle), mothers full name, including her maiden name, your relationship to the person whose certificate is being requested, your purpose for needing the copy, your daytime telephone number with area code, your handwritten signature and complete return mailing address. Be sure to include a copy of your valid photo ID.
Application for Louisiana Birth Certificate
* Orleans Parish birth records for 1819-1908 (births over 100 years ago) may be obtained from the Louisiana State Archives. The Archives also holds an index to Orleans births from 1790-1818, but no records. The Louisiana State Archives charges $5.00 for a certified copy which includes a three year search per surname. Alternatively, you can obtain a non-certified copy for $0.50 if you conduct your own search in person at the Archives.
Louisiana Death Records
Dates: From 1911 (statewide)
Cost of copy: $7.00 (1958 to present); $5.00 (prior to 1958)
Comments: Access to death records less than 50 years old in Louisiana is restricted to immediate family members (spouse, parents, grandparents, children and grandchildren).
Louisiana death records from 1965 to the present can be obtained from the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. With your request, include as much as you can of the following: the name on the death record, date of death, place of death (city or county), your relationship to the person whose certificate is being requested, your purpose for needing the copy, your telephone number with area code, copy of your photo ID, your handwritten signature and mailing address.
Application for Louisiana Death Certificate (1965 to present)
Louisiana death records from 1911-1964 (statewide) are available from the Louisiana State Archives (without access restrictions). Prior to 1911, the only death records available from the Louisiana State Archives are from Jefferson and Orleans Parishes, dating back to 1819 (index only for 1804-1818).
Online: Louisiana Death Records Search, 1911-1965 (free)
Louisiana Marriage Records
Dates: From July 1914 (statewide)
Cost of Copy: $5.00 (Orleans parish only)
Comments: For all other parishes, marriage records are maintained by the office of the Clerk of Court in the parish where the marriage license was purchased. Although the keeping of marriage records in LA did not become a statewide mandate until 1911, many earlier records do exist.
Orleans Parish marriage records over 50 years old should be requested from the Louisiana State Archives from 1870 (index only for 1831-1869). For marriage records for parishes other than Orleans, contact the Office of the Clerk of Court for that parish.
Louisiana Divorce Records
Dates: Varies by county
Cost of copy: Varies
Comments: Louisiana divorce records are available from the Clerk of Court in the parish where divorce was granted. Fees vary.